Ghana (Accra Technical University) Alumni Association Establishes the Gambia Chapter

Another one for the books! The first internationally recognised Alumni Chapter of Accra Technical University has been successfully launched at the Ocean Bay Hotel in the Gambia. The inaugural ceremony, which came off on 12th October 2022, is a testament to the University’s commitment to international students, further defined by the association’s aims and visions.

In a speech given on the occasion, the Vice-Chancellor of the University, Professor Samuel Nii Odai, reemphasised how crucial it is for an institution of higher learning like Accra Technical University to build and maintain positive relationships and to create a conducive environment for alumni members to participate in the management of the University actively.

He said that the University has placed Students’ experience at the heart of its strategic pillars and has already begun investing in initiatives to ensure that students receive up-to-scratch tuition and quality learning experience to prepare them for the world of work. This is being realised through the current expansion and refurbishment of facilities and equipping workshops and laboratories. Much has been done to improve campus lifestyle with internet access, medical emergency services, and security.

He announced the University’s far-advanced plans in introducing Master’s and PhD programmes and promised priority to applications from alumni with associated grants and privileges. According to him, the Strategic Plan recognizes the importance of Alumni to the University’s brand equity. For this reason, he said that an alumni association should provide networking opportunities and support for one another in various ways beyond an avenue for fundraising and continuous camaraderie.

He ended by congratulating members of the alumni for their achievements in their various fields. He urged them to continue to influence the brand of the University by living its values to set them apart from their contemporaries.

The President of the executive body is Engr. Joanna Mendy Okechukwu. The other members are Engr. John Frank Mendy, Vice President, Engr. Kebba Ceesay, Secretary General, Engr. Malang Jatta, Assistant Secretary General, Engr. Nyima Jobarteh, Public Relations Officer, Engr. Kebba A.K. Sanyang, Treasurer, Engr. Baba Kaba Jaiteh, Auditor, Engr. Morro Darboe, Organiser.


Add a comment

  • No comments yet.
  • Add a comment